PROFILE Speakers


Donald Walker, CEO, Magna International Inc.

Donald Walker

Magna International Inc.

Born in 1956 in Canada.

Donald Walker was named Chief Executive Officer by Magna's Board of Directors on September 13, 2010. As CEO and member of the Board Directors for Magna International, Walker oversees all aspects of the company's global operations. Magna is a U.S. $25 billion global automotive supplier that designs, develops and manufactures components and systems for the world's leading auto makers.

Walker held the previous position of Co-Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors for Magna International.

From 2001-2005, Walker was Chairman and CEO of Intier Automotive, a public company majority-owned by Magna International. Prior to taking Intier public, he was President and CEO of Magna from 1994-2001.

Walker joined Magna in 1987. Before joining Magna he spent seven years at General Motors in various engineering and manufacturing positions, including involvement in a new vehicle launch and new assembly plant.

Walker graduated from the University of Waterloo with a BA Science Mechanical Engineering degree in 1980.

He is a founding member of the Yves Landry Advisory Foundation, which promotes the value of technical education. He is a past Chairman of the Automotive Parts Manufacturers Association (APMA) and remains active in industry initiatives.

In 1995, Walker was a recipient of the Top 40 Under 40 Awards in Canada and The Wall Street Transcript selected him as the Gold Award winner in the automotive parts industry. Walker was also named a “Global Leader for Tomorrow” in 1998 by the World Economic Forum, and in 1999 he received the Professional Engineers of Ontario Gold Medal Award.

In July 2002, Walker became Co-Chair of the newly-formed Canadian Automotive Partnership Council (CAPC) with the Federal and Provincial Governments to identify both short- and long-term priorities that will help ensure the future health of the automotive industry in Canada. In 2007, he became a member of the Dean' s Advisory Council, Faculty of Engineering, University of Waterloo.